Adding an existing domain name to account

I had created an account here, example ***** and was given a domain *****.epizy.com

To use my existing domain name *****.com, I went to Control Panel - Domains - Addon Domains.
I saw that *****.epizy.com is there.

Then I changed the nameservers at my domain host to:
ns1.epizy.com
ns2.epizy.com

At Addon Domains - Create an Addon Domain - New Domain Name, I entered *****.com and got an error message “already assigned and in use” so I couldn’t add my existing domain name *****.com to point to *****.epizy.com.

How do I use my existing domain name?
Kindly advise. Thank you.

Hello there,

Are you sure you haven’t added your domain name on this platform before? Or is this actually your first time adding that domain here?

Also just to make sure, did you use another web hosting before and what was the name of that hosting?

1 Like

This is my first time using this host. ***** is just any name for discussion’s sake.

I created my account name with the domain name I wanted and so *****.epizy.com was created for me from the start.

I was guessing *****.com couldn’t be added because *****.epizy.com was already created right from the beginning before I could add my existing domain *****.com to be used here.

So how do I proceed if I want to use *****.com that is my existing domain name hosted on GoDaddy. This is just one of the hosts I used for the domain *****.com to point to. I have used other hosts before and now I want to use this host but I couldn’t add my preferred domain name because I’m using the preferred name as my account name here?

Pleas advise.

Of course I know.

Then your domain name is also probably registered in the Addon domains. *****.epizy.com is nothing but just a domain used to generate your account and you can just ignore it as it doesn’t affect how your sitw works.

When you create a hosting account by choosing the custom domain option: