Getting email on personal server

Username (e.g. epiz_XXX) or Website URL

www.5Rueckls.com

Other Information

Hello all. I am a new user of InfinityFree and so far, I am learning a lot! I purchased my domain, changed hosting to IF, and set up a small website that is actually working! I am pretty excited about that.

My next step was to set up a personal email server in my home using a Raspberry Pi and Citadel software. I have it set up and running, but I have not been able to send or receive any emails.

I have the ports open on my router. I have added entries to my CNames here on IF, but I’m not sure I did that correctly.

webmail.5rueckls.com.>my.ex.ternal.ip.add
mail.5rueckls.com.| >my.ex.ternal.ip.add

I am adept at following directions, but I am a novice in these things. I must be missing something, but I have no idea what.

Any ideas?

Welcome, email does not work on free hosting.
As you have custom domain, pls read the below guide instead.

3 Likes

Thanks for the reply! I had read that, but didn’t think it quite answered my question. I am going to look into that. However, I don’t understand why I can point IF to an outside 3rd party provider, but I can’t just point IF to my personal email server? It would seem to me if I can point it to Yandex or Zoho, I should be able to point it to my personal server.

Sorry to be “that guy”, but will you please confirm that I am wrong and need to move on! :slight_smile:

As a follow up, my goal is to have 5 email addresses ([email protected], et. al.) and I don’t want to be forced to retrieve via webmail. Does Zoho or Yandex or postale.io offer access via email client (think android phone, Outlook, etc?).

Postale allows you to use any email clients, but offers 2 mailbox and 3 aliases

4 Likes

Yandex (before they messed their site up) offed up to 100 inboxes with SMTP, IMAP and POP3 access, and yes they do have a mobile app.

3 Likes

isnt it 1000?