My domain gets error stating SSL certificate is not trusted

I tried implementing https on my domain. I keep getting an error stating my connection is not private. At first I generated everything in openSSL for windows by following the instrcutions here OpenSSL Essentials: Working with SSL Certificates, Private Keys and CSRs | DigitalOcean

When that did not work,I decided to generate the private key and csr in you ssl manager then proceeded to create a certificate in openSSL. However, I still get the same error. What am I doing wrong?

Did you follow the tutorial to generate the certificate? Because the tutorial clearly says the certificate is “self-signed”, meaning it’s not trusted. An SSL certificate is trusted if it’s generated by a trusted SSL certificate provider, meaning a self signed certificate can never be a trusted certificate. You’ll need to get a certificate from a certificate provider like StartSSL.

I see, apologies, I am a bit new at this so I didn’t know what self signed meant. I have tried using StartSSL to get a certificate butnI can’t get past the domain verification because i don’t know which of the following email to choose.
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]

@youre77 said:
I see, apologies, I am a bit new at this so I didn’t know what self signed meant. I have tried using StartSSL to get a certificate butnI can’t get past the domain verification because i don’t know which of the following email to choose.

Well, StartSSL is going to send a verification e-mail to the address you select there, so you need to make sure it’s an address you have access to. Which e-mail addresses do you think you could receive the verification e-mail on?

Hmm, my guess would be either one of these three
[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]